The St. John House
This lovely ante-bellum mansion belongs to the Levert-St. John, LLC, and a family-owned agricultural company consisting of descendants of Jean Batiste Levert (1839-1930). The home is situated four miles above the city of St. Martinville, Louisiana, on the left descending bank of historic Bayou Teche.
Available records reveal that the house was built before the Civil War, probably about 1828, by the then owner of surrounding properties, Alexandre DeClouet, Sr., a wealthy planter of the era, and a descendant of Chevalier Alexandre DeClouet, Commandant of the “Poste des Attalapas.” Mr. Declouet fell into final reverses after the Civil War, and on July 29, 1885, the plantation (along with the “St. John House”) was acquired by Jean Batiste Levert and Louis Bush of New Orleans. Subsequently, on February 15, 1887, Mr. Bush sold his interest to Mr. Levert, and the plantation and house have been owned by the Levert interests since that date.
The house, constructed of Louisiana cypress, is of colonial architecture. Two large screen porches run across the front ofthe house, upstairs and down. The interior room arrangement consists of a large entry hall running the length of the house, with two bedrooms to one side and the living room and dining room to the other. The kitchen, once separate, has been added to the rear of the dining room for convenience. The upstairs room arrangement is identical to the downstairs consisting of the large hall running the length of the house with two bedrooms to either side. Access to the upstairs is by a lovely curved stairway. Giant oaks surround the house, making it a picturesque spot, reminiscent of the grandeur of by-gone days.